Monday, June 25, 2012

Quick OB update

I'm doing great.  The baby is doing great.  Closing in on 32 weeks. 

My blood pressure was back to normal (for me), instead of on the low side.  It was 100/60 and I can definitely feel it because I'm not nearly as dizzy this past week as I was the week before!  The baby's heart rate was in the low 150s and she was jumping around like crazy at the appt today.  And I'm measuring 31 weeks.  So everything is still looking good as we approach the finish line.

Friday, June 22, 2012

Our new ride



A 2012 Honda Odyssey.  A minivan wasn't our first choice.  We actually test drove a few midsize SUVs with third row seating and fell in love with one in particular.  However, when we tried to fit our carseats in the way we want them configured once this baby arrives, we couldn't do it.  The second row was too narrow.  Our other option was to get another full size SUV (we were trading in our Chevy Tahoe) to accomodate the three carseats.  However, we desperately wanted to get away from the gas guzzlers.  So here we are...with a minivan. 

It's actually not bad and is a very safe vehicle.  And it has some really neat features for families with smaller children.  The sliding doors (which are automatic) are nice because the girls are at that age where they want to open their own doors.  Now we don't have to worry about them flinging a door open and smucking the car next to us.  It's very, very roomy inside with a lot of storage which is good for traveling with all the stuff we currently travel with.  There's a mirror near the rearview mirror that allows the driver or passenger to see all 6 seats in the back two rows without having to turn around.  Since the doors are automatic, when shutting, if they meet any resistane at all, they open back up.  No pinched hands or fingers, yay!  And there's a cooler on the inside to keep beverages like juice boxes cooled for lengthy travels. 

This isn't exactly the avenue we intended to take.  However, it suits our needs right now as a family.  And it drives nice.  So we can't complain.

Monday, June 18, 2012

Summer is here!

Livi is appreciating the free ride...

 While Addi is jumping up and down as quickly as she can!

Might as well throw the chairs in and splash around.

Enjoying their "coffee" (i.e. ice water).  Because apparently coffee is what you drink at the pool when it's 85 degrees!!

Wednesday, June 13, 2012

A++

That's the grade I got at my OB appointment today.  I'm exactly 30 weeks now and everything is going smoothly.  They verified that I passed all of my lab work from two weeks ago.  My blood sugar after my glucose test could not have been more perfect...96.  So no three hour test for this lady - hip hip hooray!!  My hemoglobin, urine, and liver function tests were all within normal limits.  Yay as well.

My blood pressure today was a bit lower than my normal.  It was 88/62 which would explain why I've been a little bit on the dizzy side the past few days.  Baby's heart rate was sitting at 144 and I'm measuring exactly 30 weeks.

Dr L thinks that this little baby might be sitting breech right now but she's not concerned.  She said that most babies will choose to settle into a head down position by about 34 weeks.  But they don't start to worry about a baby being breech till 37 weeks or so.  So we still have plenty of time.  I actually think that she's been head down for a good chunk of time based on where I usually feel her hiccups...which happen many, many times a day.  It's just been in the past couple of days that I've been feeling the hiccups above my belly button.  So I'm sure she'll figure it out and go back head down in time!!

Another OB appointment in two weeks.  We're closing in on the end!!

Tuesday, June 5, 2012

"I beat you!"

The above is a phrase we hear more times in a day than we can count.  "Addi, I beat you."  "I beat you, Livi."  Everything they do is now a race to see who can do it the quickest.  Not that they necessarily hustle through their daily activities such as eating breakfast, getting dressed, brushing teeth, etc.  But if they happen to notice that they finished first, then they apparently win.  And it doesn't matter if they get a several minute headstart!!  Just this morning, one of them proclaimed that they beat the other one in brushing their teeth...I hadn't even given the second child their toothbrush yet!!!

It seems like everything is a competition these days.  However, we've now used that to our advantage!  Come bed time, all I say is "I'm gonna beat you" and they both make a mad dash to their room, hop in bed and cover up before I really even take two steps.  It's kinda nice.  I'm sure they'll eventually catch on to the fact that I'm not running (or even walking!) all that fast.  But until then, we'll continue to make a game out of it to expedite the bedtime routine.

Wednesday, May 30, 2012

28 week OB appt

Well, I'm 28 weeks today.  I got the girls ready for daycare this morning, dropped them off, then headed to my OB appointment.  I started my fabulous morning by having to take the glucose screening.  I swear it gets worse every time!!  I'm still waiting on the results of that.  Keeping my fingers crossed that I passed.  I honestly don't think I can make it through the three hour test again!

Then I saw Dr L.  Everything is going well.  She commented that she can't believe I'm 28 weeks already.  Don't pregnancies always go faster for the people not having to live it?!  My coworkers seem to think this pregnancy is flying by as well.  Anyway, blood pressure was just fine again.  The baby's heartrate was in the high 130s and I'm measuring at 27cm...so essentially, right on track.

This baby either thoroughly enjoyed the massive amount of sugar I had to ingest this morning or was extremely ticked off.  About 20 minutes after drinking the orange concontion, she began to kick rather violently.  She's never kicked that hard before!!  Holy cow!  So I'm not exactly sure if she was having a fun sugar rush or if she was mad at me.  But she let me know that she felt the effects it for a good 15 minutes.

Back to the doctor in 2 weeks...sooner if I get the results that I failed the glucose screening.

Wednesday, May 23, 2012

Pregnant Survey #2

How far along? 27 weeks today

Total weight gain/loss:  Too much?  I'm not even entirely sure.  All I know is that it's definitely more than I gained in the other two pregnancies.

Maternity clothes?   Oh yes, since about 16ish weeks I think.

Stretch marks?  Not any new ones with this pregnancy!!!

Sleep:  On the couch.  Seems standard for me that at about this point I end up on the couch.  I need the extra back support.  At about 24-26 weeks with the other pregnancies, I called the couch my home as well.

Best moment this week:  Livi was finally able to feel the baby move!!  She absolutely lit up with excitement!

Movement:  Very, very active little baby.  But she definitely has her down moments as well.

Food cravings:  None.  I know, I'm boring.

Gender:  Not a clue.  But I continue to refer to the baby as a "she" because that's what the girls think the baby is.

Labor Signs:  Random contractions here and there, but nothing I'm concerned about.

Belly Button in or out?  It's still in, yay!

What I miss:  Sleep, as always.  Pregnancy sure does prepare you for life with a newborn!  Those poor dads must go into shock after the baby arrives without having 9 months to practice waking up several times a night!

What I am looking forward to:  Introducing this baby to the girls and seeing their reactions.  I obviously know that it won't be for a few months yet, but I'm pretty excited to see what they will say...especially if the baby isn't a girl like they're expecting it to be!!

Milestones:  I've surpassed the point in which I was put on bedrest during the twins' pregnancy (26 1/2 weeks).  Not that I was worried.  But it still makes me super happy!!

Monday, May 21, 2012

Dentist, check. Doctor, check.

On Friday both of the girls had separate appointments for very different things.  The morning started with Livi needing to go to the dentist because of some mouth trauma that happened a couple days earlier.  It happened at daycare about an hour before I picked them up for the day.  When I arrived, she was still rather upset and she would NOT let me look in her mouth.  For all I knew, she had a cut lip and that was that.  Finally two days later, she let me take a peek in her mouth.  Sure enough, one of her top front teeth was pushed backwards.  It wasn't terrible and it wasn't affecting her bite because she had been eating for those two days, but I made a call to the dentist just in case.

So in we went on Friday.  Livi really wasn't having it.   She buried her face in my chest and refused to open her mouth!  Eventually with a lot of coaxing, she somewhat cooperated...enough for the dentist to get a look anyway.  The dentist agreed that although the tooth is pushed back, it's not affecting her bite (I guess I can be thankful for the overbite that both of the girls have!).  It seemed pretty sturdy, so the dentist didn't think we needed to do an xray to see if she fractured it above the gumline.  And luckily, there wasn't any trauma to the gums, so it should not affect her permanent teeth.  The dentist thinks that eventually that tooth may work itself back to where it originally sat. 

In all honesty, it's not bad at all.  Just a small deviation from her normal.  If it was bad, regardless if Livi would've let me in her mouth or not, I would like to believe that I would've noticed!  In fact, the deviation probably isn't noticed by anyone else besides us.  Anyway, the dentist had us line up Livi's first teeth cleaning!  Ha, yeah right!  If she wouldn't let the dentist in her mouth with just her fingers to feel around, do you think she'll let her in with a bunch of metal tools?  That should be interesting.

And then in the afternoon, I had to take Addi to the ENT for a one year follow up of her ear tube placement.  It's actually been thirteen months.  The whole drive there, Addi kept asking me if it was going to be a girl doctor.  I kept telling her that I didn't know (even though I knew for certain that it was a male doctor!).  She grilled me a couple more times in the waiting room and I provided the same response to her.

When we were called back, she was weighed first.  34 pounds.  Seems about right to me.  When the doctor came in, Addi got quite shy but she didn't totally object to the fact that he wasn't a girl.  After some questioning about how the last year plus has went, he looked in her ears.  The right tube has not fallen out yet, but it's no longer working and she has fluid behind that eardrum again.  The left tube is still functioning, though it has shifted and the doctor thinks that within a couple months it will fall out.  These tubes are only made to last for about a year anyway.  So we're right at that time frame.

We go back in three months for a couple of reasons...to see what the left tube is doing and to see if the fluid behind her right eardrum has cleared.  If the fluid hasn't cleared, we'll be given the option of having a second round of tubes put in.  He said that we could probably do them now, but he would hate to put a tube in her right ear when the left one may fall out soon and she may have the same fluid problem in that ear necessitating a tube on that side as well.  So we'll re-evaluate in three months.  Oh yes, and at the very end, Addi told the doctor that he was very nice.  So it was all good!!

Monday, May 14, 2012

Almost 26 weeks

25 1/2 weeks

I had my 26 week appointment today (I'll be 26 weeks on Wednesday).  All continues to go well.  My blood pressure was perfect...94/52.  I'm measuring right on track at 25 weeks.  And this is a very active little baby.  Dr L enjoyed watching my belly move all over the place before she tried to listen for the heartbeat.  And once she finally did start to listen, the baby kept kicking at the doppler.  There's definitely a wiggly one in there!  But the heartrate was great, in the high 140's.

I'm now beginning biweekly appointments.  I go back in just over two weeks for my 28 week appointment and I'll be doing the lovely gestational diabetes screening at that time.  Oh joy.  I passed with flying colors with the twins.  I failed it by 6 points with Elli (I ended up passing the 3 hour test quite easily).  Something tells me that eating my fair share of a Dairy Queen cake the night before my original screening with Elli was a bad idea (who would've thought, right?).  So I'm hoping to steer clear of the cakes before this screening because I remember getting sooo sick from the 3 hour test...so I want to avoid that at all costs. 

Friday, May 11, 2012

Weekend Adventures

We made another trip to Nickelodeon Universe in the Mall of America over the weekend.  And ever since, the girls have been asking if we can go back to "Dora and Diego's playground."  Of course they had so much fun there that they didn't want to leave.

Riding on Blues Clues


Waiting in line to get on the balloons.

Monster trucks!!

Of course they had to ride again to switch places!

Patiently waiting for the carousel to start moving.

Saturday, May 5, 2012

Big girl bikes!



The girls got bikes for Easter, but it's been so cold since that time that they haven't had much of a chance to be able to ride them.  However, it's starting to warm up a bit, so we've had them outside practicing.  They actually do really, really well!!  The first time they ever rode them, we had to both push them and help them steer. Now they pretty much pedal on their own (every now and then they get stuck and need just a little push to get moving again), and they steer by themselves too!

In other news, Addi was able to feel the baby move for the first time last night. And it was actually the baby hiccuping that she was feeling. Her little face lit up each time she felt the baby bounce and she'd proclaim "I feel it, I feel it!!" Now I'm just hoping to get Livi to feel the baby move sometime soon as well.

Monday, April 30, 2012

S'mores!!

The girls enjoyed their first s'mores of the year over the weekend.  They had a blast roasting their own marshmallows over the makeshift fire in the backyard.  We had a couple issues with sticky white goo ending up in hair that wasn't tied back (mommy's fault for not planning ahead), but it wasn't anything that a bath couldn't fix!!  Nevermind the pumpkin shirts.  Daddy was alone with them all day while I was at work.  Apparently he sees nothing wrong with wearing Halloween shirts in April.



Wednesday, April 25, 2012

Bedtime battles

Wow.  So sometimes I wish I had the stamina of a 3 year old.  We've been somewhat struggling with bedtime for probably two weeks or more now.  There've been a couple nights where one or both of the girls didn't fall asleep until 11:15-11:30pm!!  We put them in their room anywhere between 8-8:30 usually.  That means they're up playing for three hours at times!

There was one night not long ago when I went to check on them and usher them back into their beds.  Livi was already fast asleep and Addi was playing all by herself with the light on.  So I put Miss Adalyn back to bed, turned the light off, told her that Livi was tired and it was time to go night-night.  Well, she didn't care.  Light was back on just a few minutes later.  At one point, it finally got really quiet so I went to cover everybody up.  Here she had left the light on, climbed back into bed and zonked out!

We just recently took all of the toys out of their room.  They have a shelf of toys that moves very easily, so we just take it out at bedtime and put it right back in in the morning.  Not only had the toys become a distraction (even though they had been in there since the girls were put into big girl beds), but the mess they created was insane!!  Every single bin would get dumped out most nights.  So now we remove them.

Things have gotten significantly better, but we're far from what it was like not that long ago when we could put them in bed, meet a few demands (usually something to drink, the desire for slippers or an extra hug) and they'd settle right in.  We still have to go in several times to get them back in bed and turn off the light, but it's not lasting for hours on end like last week.  So it's progress.  Hopefully we'll keep moving in the right direction!!

Wednesday, April 18, 2012

Updates

I had my 22 week OB appointment on Monday and all is well.  Dr L confirmed that the baby looks perfect.  All of the ultrasound images and measurements from two weeks ago were great.  I'm measuring right on track.  And overall, I'm doing well...still in that 2nd trimester honeymoon where the non-pleasant things of early pregnancy are gone but I'm not yet big enough to be achey and waddling!  So things are good!

I had to take the girls with me to the appointment.  Dr L hasn't seen them in ages.  And I think it was mostly by luck of the draw, but she was able to guess who was who!  The girls received a sucker and a sticker to occupy them during the visit and when it came time to listen to the baby's heartbeat, they had to tell Dr L all about the babies in their own bellies.  Addi has a baby brother and Livi has a baby sister.  And mommy?  She has a baby girl.

It's amazing how they refer to the babies the same way every single time.  Addi always has a brother in her belly, not a boy.  Livi always has a sister in hers, not a girl.  But mommy always has a girl in her belly, not a sister.  Anyway, after sharing the genders of the gestating babies (real or fake) with Dr L, they got to listen to the heartbeat.  It was sitting in the 140s.  And if you ask the girls, the baby was saying "thump, thump, thump."  So yes, mommy and baby are doing great thus far.

The last update is about the camping excursion.  Well...someone neglected to look at the weather forefast before setting up the tent.  After everyone went outside, I got myself ready for bed.  After that, I turned the computer on to check the weather.  HUGE storm moving our way.  There was no chance it was going to miss us.  I took the computer outside to show to Nate.  His response?  "Holy crap, that's a BIG one!  Oops."

So we brought everything back inside.  The girls were going to camp out in the living room with Nate on the air mattress, but even that didn't last.  I guess we'll try the whole camping thing again some other time.  But maybe I'll be the one to take control of checking the weather *before* the whole setup occurs!!

Saturday, April 14, 2012

This should be interesting

Nate is currently preparing the backyard for a "camping" expedition with the girls.  The tent is set up.  He's filling up the air mattress and getting plenty of blankets outside.  They went around the neighborhood with the wagon asking the neighbors if anyone had any firewood to spare.  Hmmm.  There's no fire pit.  Oh well.

Can you guess where *this* lady will be spending the night?  Tucked warmly away in my own soft bed.  My pregnant bladder doesn't want to be hiking it into the house every two hours.  Plus, I'm assuming the girls won't make it through the night.  I'm actually doubting that they'll even fall asleep out there...but maybe they'll prove me wrong.  They just might be tired enough....

....because they didn't exactly sleep well last night.  We put them to bed at their normal time, right around 8:15pm and they didn't go to sleep until 10:30pm.  For over two hours, they played and played and played.  We went in their room every 20-30 minutes to usher them back into their beds and they would give hugs and kisses pretending to be all settled in.  The minute we would leave the room, whispering would ensue, followed shortly thereafter by the light being flipped on.

At one point, they had opened their closet and pulled out their baptismal gowns.  Both of them were trying to wiggle their way into them!  Now keep in mind that they were baptized when they were two months old!  Yeah, not fitting.  But holy meltdown for us taking them away!  So in the end, they slept with their Easter dresses on.  It was late at night and I wasn't in the mood to fight...they wanted to wear a dress (specifically their baptism gowns), so we compromised with their Easter dresses.  Hey, sometimes you just do what you gotta do.  And finally, they fell asleep at 10:30.

So they just *may* be tired enough to sleep outside with daddy in the tent.  I'll let you know!!